The Ides of March

Image

Another lackluster weekend of plays, going 2-3. It’s early in the season, feel like I am learning more each week…at least that’s what I am telling myself. I’ll get away from the usual today and go into the upcoming college basketball season. I’ll give you a few teams that I think are good bets to take down the nets this year. First, lets go over where I was right and wrong.

Wrong

Penn State was the biggest “swing and miss of the weekend” losing by 20 to Indiana. I’m still trying to put together how that happened. Indiana had a lot better day on the ground, and PSU couldn’t convert on some FG’s. I guess I underestimated the effect of playing on the road for Penn State.

Tony Romo had a career day, literally. Over 500 yds and 5 TD’s, just video game numbers. Every time I bet against the Cowboys it back-fires, but when I don’t get bet on them they seem to look terrible. Denver showed a weakness on Sunday, good passing offense’s. They didn’t have an answer for Dez/Witten.

I was right on the Saints being slowed down on grass, but Rob Ryan’s D answered the call. You could make the argument that there is not a better team in football right now then New Orleans. One of the best QB’s in the league (Brees) to go with a top-notch D.

Right

The Baylor/WVU game total at HALFTIME was 70. Finished well over 100, as this play was a cruise. The big 12 is all about explosive offense and bad defense (not counting TCU), any Baylor takes it to the extreme. With all ofi Baylor’s games being 72 points or more it will be worth keeping an eye on the total this weekend. Playing KSU, and it is there first road game.

The Colts took care of business at home. I couldn’t see Seattle winning back to back road games against previous playoff teams. Andrew Luck is becoming one of elite QB’s in the NFL, sooner rather than later.

Another week of 2-3. 7-9 since I started. It will get better….maybe.

A short lived season for my two picks in the Survivor Pool, as Atlanta fell to the Jets last night. New York has been a lot like Dallas for me, if I pick them they look terrible…pick against them they make me pay. Three years in a row in the Survivor Pool, the furthest I have made is week 8. It sucks to suck, right?

Eli had a solid day, but had some fantasy points took away because of the turnovers. My fantasy team got a W this week, which is impressive. I played against Peyton Manning, and Gronk was held out again. Playing Pryor over Kaepernick really paid off, and had to have Snelling and Winslow find the endzone last night. Went from 0-3 to 2-3, so I’m proud.

Bengals Report

We have became the most bipolar team in the NFL. Beat the Packers, lose to the Browns, and then beat the Patriots. Maybe we are just a lot better in Cincinnati. The defense is for real, as there is not a better D-lineman then Geno Smith. The rain in the end was in our favor. It was a needed win, 4 out of the next 5 are on the road.

Lets shift our focus to basketball…college basketball. The season is approaching quickly, and if you want to make a few odds bets for a team to take down the nets then now is the time. I like to put in a few future bets for MLB, NFL, and college basketball. MLB and NFL I bet on the championship match-ups. I had the Reds and Tigers for MLB, for the NFL I have Bengals vs Seahawks and Colts vs Packers. It is a little harder to bet on the matchup, but the odds are a lot better as well. Here are three teams in college basketball that I think the odds justify there chances at cutting down the nets at the end of the season.

Michigan State

Tom Izzo has been to 6 final fours. Michigan State returns 5 out of there 6 players that led them in minutes last season, including the leading scorer and the leading rebounder.  I like the odds at 10-1.

Oklahoma State 

The Cowboys return a lot of talent, as Marcus Smart made the big decision to come back for another year. He not the only talented one, Oklahoma State is projected to have 4 players to get drafted…and which all 4 players were on the team last year. This is my favorite bet at 40-1.

Boise State

I know, its a long shot. Out of all your mid-major long shots, I think Boise brings value. Made the tournament last year, and they bringing back everybody!  Out of the six players that averaged 20 mins or more in PT last season they’re all coming back. At 200-1 you might have a big pay day.

Check back on Friday for my plays of the weekend. I will also recap what all is going on in the MLB playoffs, you gotta love October baseball.

Have a good week y’all.

One thought on “The Ides of March

  1. Pingback: Holiday Special | itsalock

Leave a comment