Oh, I am fortune’s fool!

tony

Monday has rolled around, which means another weekend of football is in the books. Another weekend where yours truly keeps on giving winners. The man you see above is Tony Carter. Most of you don’t know Tony Carter, as he is a backup CB for Denver. Tony though cost the Broncos last night in overtime, which lead to our 4th win of the weekend: http://usatthebiglead.files.wordpress.com/2013/11/punt-hits-tony-carter-and-is-recovered-by-patriots-a.gif?w=640

 

Where I was wrong

2nd week in a row I am able to keep this short, but we did miss on one of our love plays. The LSU/A&M game went way under the total of 73. It seems that Les Miles has figured out Johnny Football, has he has had his worst two games of his career against LSU. The weather may have played a role, as it was a rainy day. One good thing we can take from this, with A&M having their worst offensive performance of the season, we may be able to find value in the total for the showdown on Saturday against Mizzu.

Where I was right

To start off the “brag column”, we have to go back to Thursday night. UNLV handled AF, as that spread was just a “swing and a miss” for Vegas. AF is terrible, and I mean terrible. UNLV was sitting on 5 wins, looking for one more to get bowl eligible. I’m guessing the oddsmakers survived since it was a late MW Thursday night game, but for those that follow me…we took advantage.

We had a big day yesterday in the NFL, going 3-0. The Dolphins started it off for us, as the line closed at +5 for Miami. Carolina was coming into the game not only winning 6 in a row, but winning 6 in a row ATS. Those kind of streaks ATS don’t last long in the NFL. Tough loss for Miami, as they led the whole game. Carolina was on their own 20 on 4th and 10 with two mins left, down by 3. They had to go for it, and converted…then went on to score the game-winning TD. Nevertheless, those Miami tickets still cashed.

In the NFC East showdown, we cashed in on our Dallas tickets. The Giants came in riding a 4 game winning streak, but it was a 4 game winning streak in which they beat bad teams and bad QB’s. It was a good situation for Dallas, as they was coming off a bad lost and a bye week. Dez fumbled the ball early in the 4th, that rolled 15 yards towards the Giants endzone…luckily it went out of bounds.

In the game of the week, we seen Brady and the Pats have a comeback for the ages. Down 24-0 at halftime, me and just about everybody else had gave up on NE. The Patriots got the ball to start the 2nd half, marched down the field and scored a quick TD. Then a Denver turnover, and another NE TD…all of the sudden we had a ballgame. As I said in the opening paragraph, Tony Carter locked up the W for the Pats when he run into a punt that gave the Pats the ball on the 15 in overtime. A few things were reaffirmed from this game; don’t go against the Pats at home and Peyton struggles in cold weather.

 

Another 4-1 week for us, in the past four weeks we are 14-6. My love play went 1-1. Overall my love plays are 4-4 and since we started this 25-26.

 

If your using my weekly leagues in fantasy you should be sitting pretty, as we had another big week. I have been taking shots in these big tournaments that have over 2K people in them. I like the idea of risking one or two dollars to win a one or two hundred dollars. The problem is, to finish in the top 5 of those you need 160 points or more. You have to get lucky with kickers and defenses. It does look like I will at least cash this week though. In my actual fantasy league, it looks like I will be adding another W as I should be winning the pillow fight of the week (as long as RG3 don’t score over 33.) We had dud weeks from KC defense, Ridley, and Jeffery. Gronk and MJD got just enough though to put me in position for a bye in the playoffs.

 

The Walking Dead

This weeks episode picked up the pace as far as action goes, and we learned that the Governor has not changed a bit. I knew he would become the leader of the group when they took him in, but for it to happen that fast is pretty remarkable. This is the 2nd week in a row they haven’t shown the prison, which I am not the biggest fan of. Daryl, Rick, etc are the main characters…and don’t get me wrong. I am glad we are all caught up with Governor, but I don’t feel like we needed two full episodes to do so. Judging by the previews for next week show, it could be one that is mentioned with best TWD episodes of all time. Shouldn’t have much trouble competing with ratings, as for some reason SNF is going to be Giants/Skins….yeah I know.

 

Not really sure what I am going to do for this week. This is the best week of football we will have all year, as Thanksgiving weekend tends to be the “Mac-Daddy” of them all. The weekly leagues offer Thanksgiving day leagues, and I will give you that as a special to go along with a Sunday lineup. I will give a bonus pick or two…and try my best to include a college basketball game. I would like to get it out Wednesday night, but it could be Thanksgiving morning.

Have a good week, y’all.

 

Leave a comment